International workers from these countries posted to India are not required to contribute to THE social security systems run by PFOA in India. He also stated that Indian workers, who work purely temporarily in Singapore and are covered by EPFO-managed social security systems, are also exempt from compulsory contributions in Singapore. In addition, India has social security agreements with 17 countries – the Netherlands, Belgium, Germany, Switzerland, Denmark, Luxembourg, France, South Korea, Sweden, the Czech Republic, Austria, Finland, Japan, Canada, Australia, Norway and Hungary. Workers in these countries must present a certificate of coverage stating that they are covered by such social protection systems in their country and be exempt from the contribution to EPFO systems. A senior EPFO official said that the clause clearly states that Singaporeans, who work purely temporarily or in the short term and are part of the social security system in their own country, are not subject to these EPFO-managed systems. In addition, Quebec and Brazil have signed social security agreements, but these are still in force. Foreign nationals may be exempt from tax in India if their stay in India does not exceed 90 days, as stipulated by Indian national law, or the number of days (usually 183 days) imposed under various double taxation agreements (DBAA) in which India has entered with other jurisdictions, subject to compliance with all other conditions. The Social Security Treaty provides for separation, totalization and portability. Under the replacement clause, workers in one country who are transferred by their employers to another country for short-term work assignments are exempt from social security contributions for up to 60 months. Indian workers who have been posted to the 17 countries with which it has signed social security agreements enjoy a similar privilege. However, there are a large number of countries with which India has no social security agreements. This is why workers in these countries are required to subscribe to THE EPFO programs and, at some point, they carry out these mandatory programs in their countries. Referring to the Comprehensive Agreement on Economic Cooperation between India and Singapore, which will come into force on 1 August 2005, EPFO notes that the field offices are unaware of the „excluded workers“ provisions covered in paragraph 83, paragraph f) (ii) of the 1952 EPF system.

Paragraph 2, point (f) (c) of the scheme provides that an excluded worker is the one who is involved as a national or resident of a social security programme in his country of origin with which India entered into a comprehensive bilateral economic agreement before 1 October 2008 containing a social security clause, including excluding individuals from both countries from contributing to the host country`s Social Security Fund. . Maldives citizens with a valid passport and visit India for 90 days or less for tourism and medical purposes do not require an Indian visa. In addition to India`s domestic rules to exempt international double taxation, India has entered into double taxation (complete and limited) with more than 100 countries/legal systems to prevent double taxation and allow cooperation between India and foreign tax authorities to enforce their respective tax laws.